Our Mission

The Fredericktown Community Joint Ambulance District’s mission is to provide a valuable community service to the residents of the Fredericktown Community by providing the most recent and effective forms of care to all community members in their time of need.

Who We Are

Fredericktown Community Joint Emergency Ambulance District, aka Fredericktown EMS, is a stand-alone emergency medical service provider, located in northwestern Knox County. The area served is 118 square miles and has a population of approximately 8,700 residents. The ambulance district consists of six entities: Berlin, Middlebury, Pike, Wayne and the northern half of Morris Townships and the Village of Fredericktown. The joint ambulance district is a progressive organization that provides advanced life support level (paramedic) response and transport service. The district utilizes a combination of career, part-time and volunteer staffing to provide 24-hour coverage for immediate response to incidents. The employees include a full-time EMS Chief, four career Paramedics, and 26 members who serve either in a part-time or volunteer capacity.

Our History

Before the inception of the EMS District, the Village of Fredericktown provided emergency medical care utilizing volunteer members. Fredericktown EMS provided services to the same geographical area as the current EMS district. On August 28, 1978, the Board of Directors for the new Fredericktown Community Joint Emergency Ambulance District held their first organizational meeting to place an operating levy on the November 1978 ballot. The formation of the joint ambulance district occurred under ORC 505.71. Today the district is governed by a six member board representing each of the entities. The EMS Board consists of one member from each township appointed by the Board of Township Trustees and one member appointed by the mayor of the Village of Fredericktown.